Praying Mum

praying woman

I had this two friends who would always say how they wouldn’t be around if it were not for their mama’s prayers. They would reminisce over their shortcomings and say that it was their mum’s prayers keeping them alive. The thought of them arriving home safe and sound after a wild night, made them thank God for their mothers.

It used to be humorous as we conversed on it but later when I pondered on the issue, I realized it was true. Growing up I was brought up in a Catholic family and church was everything. Even later after both my mum and me fell away from family tradition and joined the Protestant, prayer and church were always part of the family. I can remember the many instances that I would be woken up by mum’s silent prayers in the wee hours of the night. Aside from the time shared together, those were the moments I treasured the most because I knew God had to take good care of me because mama was in the prayer room. It also assured me of her love for her children.

In the Bible, Hannah was an intercessor. She prayed BEFORE Samuel was born and she prayed AFTER Samuel was born. In verse 10 of chapter 1 of Samuel we read: “She prayed unto the Lord,” and then in verse 12 we read: “And it came to pass, as she continued praying before the Lord.” Then after the birth of Samuel, we have the prophetic prayer of Hannah in chapter 2 verses 1 through 10. Note again the words of verse 1: “And Hannah prayed.” Here was a mother who recognized that her greatest ministry was prayer.

A mother can make the greatest impact on her child or children’s lives through prayer. Praying earnestly, regularly and passionately for your child makes a difference in their lives. …The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much (James 5:16). The affection of a mother towards a child makes her prayers effectual.
For this child I prayed; and the LORD has given me my petition which I asked of him… 1 Samuel 1:27-28.

I know for a fact that the prayers of a mother are effectual. My mother once told me that she never wanted another baby boy and when she knew I was conceived she prayed day and night that I would be a girl, and God heard her. She always bragged how I was her answered prayer. Even when the ‘grandmothers’ tell-tale signs proved she would have another boy.’

I don’t remember the many words in my mum’s prayers for me, but I remember her last words of blessings to me. I know for a fact that the far I have reached is due to those prayers. Every wish that she had for me are being fulfilled one by one to my utter amazement. The pits (predicaments) that I have fallen into haven’t lasted for long because God has always been there to pull me out, and I believe they are the prayers of my mother. I shine every day because of those prayers. Moving from one level of glory to the next due to those prayers. I take comfort in every situation because I know God doesn’t break His covenant, and He will fulfill my mama’s prayers.

The prayer of a mother lasts for eternity from generation to generation. It matters what names you call your children even in times of anger. It matters what words you mutter to God in times of silence. Am not a parent, but I get heated up and very annoyed when I hear parents call their children abusive names in times of anger. What you call your child is what will form in the mind and what he/she will grow to become.

No one is a perfect parent, and am not saying I was raised by one either, God knows how much wrong stuff went on… but the little things that you do to make up for the imperfections matters a lot. The perfect gift you can give to a child is not too many toys or the best vacations, but a touch of affection will go a long way. I remember my mum not because I was a spoilt brat in riches but because I was spoilt in affection. Damn! I remember how my relatives used to complain about how much love I was given.

A parent’s prayer moves mountains and puts God on the judgement throne for years to come. Remember how God remembered Isaac because of Abraham. Blessing him wherever he went to the surprise of his enemies (Genesis 26:18-25) Whether you will be here to behold it or not God is faithful to your prayers for your children. He delivers His promise throughout the generations.

This article, I dedicate it today to my beautiful mum GRHS, who would have been 52 years today. Were it not for her prayers and blessings to me I wouldn’t have made it here. I grow stronger and stronger in Glory due to her blessings and prayers that she made to God for me.

If you have been praying for your child, do continue, if you haven’t its a high time you start. Cover your kids in the morning with prayers. Let them be under the protection and the wings of God. Let God guide them and lead them during the day so that they won’t be lost in the whirlwind or fall prey to the hand of the enemy. You will see how much change will reflect in their lives.

About cessyiel

Am about your average girl, very opinionated. I live in a glass half full world. In my world, every hurdle is a stepping stone to greatness. Every wall hides behind it bronze when I knock it down, and another appears, behind it there is silver. When stubbornness persists, and another emerges suddenly, the surety in my heart is that there is gold. I believe in possibilities with the right motion set in place. Writing is my comfort zone, and I put my heart out to express how we ought to respond to life and its many hurdles.

Posted on March 19, 2016, in Christian. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. God bless- I like the verses:)

    Like

  2. your mum is proud of you. God rest his soul in peace..

    Like

  3. Just stumbled upon this blog today and loved it already. Great piece. Here to support you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

