The Mercies of God

dangerous_year_in_terms_of_fire_h652.jpg

We’ve all heard stories of houses burnt down to ashes, children dying, buildings coming down and wealth lost in the tragic event. Surely, as they say, fire is a good servant but a bad master. Ready to deliver all you need at your command but when in charge, it devours everything you love in the shortest amount of time.

I can still remember vividly the first incidence of fire I witnessed. Our neighbours plot burnt down to ashes killing one individual on Valentine’s Day. Nothing to be recovered but only the ashes. The tears that filled the eyes of the people was immense. Heartbreaking and soul crashing, the event was.

For days, people cried of the many things they had lost, and the mother of the son cried of her lost “Mzungu” because the boy was very brown. Behind was left a young widow with two dependants. The moment was heart breaking.

All these memories make me view God in a new light. He ought to be praised at the moments he rescues as from misfortunes as such. Makes one feel humbled at moments of grace He offers us.

“But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit.” Titus 3:4-5

Have you ever been utterly amazed, just moved to tears because of the hand of God? How can He be this good, when you don’t deserve it? You know you don’t deserve it, but His Grace, …but His Grace. It’s been sufficient in ways you can’t imagine.

I always stand amazed at His works. His wondrous works in my life make it impossible not to talk about His goodness. In as far away as I may fall and fail to keep His word, He draws me back to His love. Makes it impossible not to offer a love letter back to Him.

So, I had a Law of Evidence Continuous Assessment Test in the morning. The subject was giving me a headache; this law units normally do before I sit down for the exam. Then afterwards, I wonder what the fuss was all about.

I also had an assignment to deliver which was long overdue. I was late by a week, and there was some bit I had not completed, so they were all stressing me out. So I rushed things in the morning, half asleep due to the sleep deprivation, half exhausted and my mind was not thinking straight. When I went out the door ready to lock the house in my mind, I was like I had forgotten to do something. So I went back into the house.

Normally when I do this, I go back and check the sockets make sure the power is switched off and everything else is unplugged. This time, I only remembered about my books and the assignment of which I picked from the bed. Rushed out not thinking about the power.

So six hours later am getting back to the house, and the first thing am noticing is the power is on. Going to check on the iron box, am noticing it’s still plugged in the extension, it’s lying flat on the sheets, and the socket is on. Am thinking Nah! The iron box can’t be fully plugged in the extension. Touching the iron box, it’s as hot as hell, completely plugged in the extension, the sheets where it was, was veeeery hot.

Utterly confused I disconnect the iron box then switch off the power. At this moment, I know I must be dreaming. Then am like, the logical explanation is that the lights must have been off at some point. KPLC’s inconsistency on the electricity last week must have paid off today. Then I convince myself the lights must have been back just a few minutes before I got home.

Out of curiosity, I decide to ask my neighbour who confirms the lights have been on since morning, and it never went off. Then am tongue tied. Usually, things take a longer time in my mind for me to comprehend them. You can hail insults at me, and I will look at you like you are singing a love song then later is when it sinks in and am wondering what he/she drank in his or her tea.

I say thank you a number of times to God, but it hasn’t still sunk in. So like an hour later is when the thing is sinking in, and I cannot fathom the love of God in my life. Then tears start rolling down my cheeks and am like, surely God is watching over me, and He is fulfilling my mum’s prayers before she went to be with Him.

Yes, I know God loves me, and you should hear me brag about it whenever am faced with a challenge or just telling someone. You would think that God loves me alone when I know he loves us equally. But moments like this just break me, and I still wonder what I deserved for Him to be this good.

Ponder upon the little kinds of stuff that God has done for you and you will be surprised how great they are!!!

You can also share with us.

Cheers.

About cessyiel

Am about your average girl, very opinionated. I live in a glass half full world. In my world, every hurdle is a stepping stone to greatness. Every wall hides behind it bronze when I knock it down, and another appears, behind it there is silver. When stubbornness persists, and another emerges suddenly, the surety in my heart is that there is gold. I believe in possibilities with the right motion set in place. Writing is my comfort zone, and I put my heart out to express how we ought to respond to life and its many hurdles.

Posted on March 6, 2016, in Christian, Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

