The Fathers love

father-son-sunset-2400x1200.jpg

 

February is the month of love, and I thought of jotting this down before it ends. When it boils down to love, I think of the very person I love most in the world, and He loves me infinity times infinity more than I could ever love Him. Many have had the experience of a father’s love, whether he is “functional” or the opposite according to your grading. You’ve felt the uniqueness of a father’s love.

While some were MIA or went to see the Big Man before we could feel the love, I lack words to finish up on that one… but I know there was a father figure whether an uncle or a stepdad or a big bro, etc.- On my part I never had the privilege of being brought up with my biological father due to MIA reasons. But God was gracious that I experienced a step dad’s love in almost a decade. In the brief moment, I knew a father’s love was precious, and it doesn’t go away no matter what we do. I know some have bad stepfather moments, but I thank God mine wasn’t the case.

The other day I was chatting with a friend about church and how I missed church, and she briefed me on how it went so that I could feel I was there. As we conversed, she told me of how she never feels worthy of being in God’s presence after missing the mark or doing something that is not according to God’s ways.

I felt sad because I used to feel condemned and would shy off from going to church or even making a prayer when I did ungodly things. Am not saying am perfect, in fact, when it comes to sinners I think am chief of them all, but His grace is sufficient enough. He offers forgiveness when I ask for it and helps me in my weaknesses. Kinda makes me think of Paul’s prayer.

And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me (2 Corinthians 12:7-9).

We are all not perfect but imagine the situation of an earthly father with his children. When they go wrong, he doesn’t disown them and cast them away from his presence. Yes, he will be mad, but never will he chase you away or disown you. How much more our God? Yes, we sin we fall short of His glory, but He is a better father than the earthly one. Numbers can’t even be used to compare His love to his children.

Someone once told me, no matter how far I fall I make sure I fall still holding on to God and acknowledging Him in my life. That’s the only way to ensure protection from Satan’s dangerous traps. When we fall and stay away from God, we open doors for satan to come and have a field day. It’s the devil who wants us to feel condemned and shy off.

We are humans and perfection is far from us. (for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23 ) All we can do is ask God for grace to sin no more and repent for every commission of sin. But let us not shy away from God because He is the only one who can give us the grace to overcome the flesh.

I have a weakness with my temper, mostly called a no-nonsense due to my tolerance capacity to some behaviours… My psychology says it’s due to my body size! Mmmm! The one who came up with that might be right. But when I get the opportunity to attend church, I find am not irritable as before. I know that the word plus His presence keeps me calm and adjusts my temperament issues. I can’t shy away from His presence no matter what I do because it’s the air that sustains my very being. Without it am dead.

God is the only person who can take away your weaknesses and make you a better person. When you are sick, the only option is to see a physician and the best place to be in is a hospital. When you keep off, you are risking the chance of being healthy and you might die. When we are sick spiritual wise the best place to be in is church, otherwise, you are heading slowly but surely into the tomb of spiritual death.

If an earthly father would want you close even after you sin, how much more our God. So whenever you’ve had a wild weekend, and you feel condemned the only person who can help you is God. You are not a hypocrite by being in His presence, you are just coming bare to Him so that He can make you whole again. Remember how the tax collector went home justified by God. He knew his weaknesses, Instead of shying away he went bare before God (Luke 18:9-14)

Stop staying away, if there is anyone who can embrace you and make you well, it is Him. That’s how abounding and unconditional His love is. That why He shared the story of the Prodigal son. Hope you will not forsake God’s presence next time you don’t feel worthy.

About cessyiel

Am about your average girl, very opinionated. I live in a glass half full world. In my world, every hurdle is a stepping stone to greatness. Every wall hides behind it bronze when I knock it down, and another appears, behind it there is silver. When stubbornness persists, and another emerges suddenly, the surety in my heart is that there is gold. I believe in possibilities with the right motion set in place. Writing is my comfort zone, and I put my heart out to express how we ought to respond to life and its many hurdles.

Posted on February 23, 2016, in Christian. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

